Research Office

Level 14, Support Building, Auckland City Hospital
Private Bag 92024, Auckland, New Zealand
Tel: 064 9 307 4949
Fax: 09 307 8913

researchoffice@adhb.govt.nz

Dr Mary-Anne Woodnorth
Research Manager
Ext 23854
mwoodnorth@adhb.govt.nz

Dr Helen Wihongi
Māori Advisor – Research, Auckland and Waitemata DHBs
021 0203 1167
helen.wihongi@waitematadhb.govt.nz

Tim Sato
Research Advisor and Co-ordinator
Ext 23851
tsato@adhb.govt.nz

Mary Righton
Research Co-ordinator
Ext 23876
mrighton@adhb.govt.nz

Erin Hanlon
Grants Co-ordinator
Ext 23852
ehanlon@adhb.govt.nz

Rong Hu
Research Statistical Consultant
Ext 23857
rongh@adhb.govt.nz

Peter Reed
Statistics Advisor
Children's Research Centre
preed@adhb.govt.nz

DHB Research Governance Contacts

If you intend to involve other New Zealand DHBs as localities in your research project you will need to obtain research approval from those DHBs via their own processes.

Below is a list of contact details for DHB research offices and key contacts:

Bay of Plenty DHB

Phone: 07 579 8797
Email: research@bopdhb.govt.nz

Charlie Stratton | Research Manager
Phone: 07 579 8797
Email: charlie.stratton@bopdhb.govt.nz 

Canterbury DHB

Phone: 03 364 3630
Email: research.uoc@otago.ac.nz

 

Emily Oughton Research Advisor

Tel 03 364 1513 / 03 364 0232

Emily.oughton@otago.ac.nz

 

Hiede Doyle Research Advisor

Tel 03 364 1513

Hiede.doyle@otago.ac.nz

 

Liz Reeder Research Advisor

Tel:  03 364 3633

liz.reeder@otago.ac.nz

Capital and Coast DHB

Phone: 04 918 5117
Email: res-research@ccdhb.org.nz

Marina Dzhelali | Service Leader, Research
Email: marina.dzhelali@ccdhb.org.nz

Counties Manukau DHB

Angela Bennett | Research Coordinator
Phone: 021574928
Email: Researchoffice@middlemore.co.nz

Hawkes Bay DHB

Phone: 06 878 8109
Email: clinicaltrials@hbdhb.govt.nz

Diana Schmid | Research Co-ordinator (Clinical Trials)
Phone: 06 878 8109
Cellphone: 021 244 2225
Email: diana.schmid@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

(For research other than trials)
Sally Houliston | Nurse Educator Practice Development
Phone: 06 878 1619 ext: 4505
Cellphone: 027 453 5271
Email: sally.houliston@hawkesbaydhb.govt.nz

Hutt Valley DHB

Phone: 04 918 5117
Email: research@huttvalleydhb.org.nz

Marina Dzhelali Research Office Manager

Marina.Dzhelali@ccdhb.org.nz

Lakes DHB

Phone: 0276113627 
Email: Kristina.maconaghie@lakesdhb.govt.nz

Kristina Maconaghie |Chairs Research and Ethics Committee

MidCentral DHB 

Phone: 06 350 8036
Email: research@midcentraldhb.govt.nz

Kelly Butler | Research Support Officer
Email: Kelly.Butler@midcentraldhb.govt.nz

Nelson Marlborough DHB

Phone: 03 546 1800

Dr Bruce King |
Email: bruce.king@nmdhb.govt.nz

Northland DHB 

Phone: 09 430 4101 ext 8801
Email: michael.roberts@northlanddhb.org.nz

Dr Michael Roberts | Chief Medical Officer
Email: michael.roberts@northlanddhb.org.nz

South Canterbury DHB 

Karen Berry | Executive Assistant, Senior Leadership Team
Email: kberry@scdhb.health.nz

Dr Robyn Carey | Chief Medical Officer
Email: robyncarey@scdhb.health.nz

Southern DHB 

Phone: 03 470 3843
Email: hrs@otago.ac.nz

Dr Dayle Matthews | Manager, Health Research South, Dunedin School of Medicine & Southern DHB
Phone: 03 474 7604
Email: dayle.matthews@otago.ac.nz

Tairawhiti DHB

Phone: 06 869 0500 ext 8812
Email: ros.iversen@tdh.org.nz

Dr Ros Iversen | Chief Medical Officer
Email: ros.iversen@tdh.org.nz

Taranaki DHB 

Phone: 06 753 6139 ext 864
Email: research@tdhb.org.nz

Frances McNulty | Clinical Board Co-ordinator 
Phone: 06 753 6139 ext 8645
Email: frances.mcnulty@tdhb.org.nz

Waikato DHB

Phone: 07 839 8750
Email: research@waikatodhb.health.nz

Veronique Gibbons | Waikato Clinical School (University of Auckland), Waikato Hospital
Phone: 07 839 8750
Email:  v.gibbons@auckland.ac.nz

Alternative contact: mary.lapine@waikatodhb.health.nz

Wairarapa DHB

See website: wairarapa.dhb.org.nz(external link)

Waitemata DHB

Phone: 09 486 8920
Email: research@waitematadhb.govt.nz

Rose Smart | Decision and Research Support Manager Promotion
Phone: 09 486 8920 ext 2071

West Coast DHB

Phone: 03 769 7400
Email: michele.coghlan@westcoastdhb.health.nz

Michele Coghlan | Nurse Manager Clinical Services
Phone: 03 769 7400 Ext 2690
Mobile: 027 564 3143
Email: michele.coghlan@westcoastdhb.health.nz

Whanganui DHB

See website: wdhb.org.nz(external link)

Ministry, government websites

Ministry of Health(external link)

NZ Government(external link)