Health Excellence awards 2014 finalists

Auckland District Health Board (DHB) is pleased to announce the finalists in the five categories of its Health Excellence Awards 2014.

The annual award ceremony celebrates the work of our people who are developing innovative ways of delivering healthcare services, or undertaking cutting edge research that benefits the health and wellbeing of both staff and the patients we care for.

"The awards are a great opportunity for us to celebrate and share new ideas to work smarter, improve systems and process, offer better clinical care and take a fresh look at workplace design and flow,” says Auckland DHB’s Chief Executive, Ailsa Claire.

This year the awards introduced two new categories – Community Health and Wellbeing and Excellence in the Workplace – to highlight and include the valuable work of the DHB's primary care partners and community health organisations. It also wanted to place a spotlight on innovation in workplace design and wellness across the organisation.

“The examples of innovation and improvement shown in the applications this year were outstanding. It was a really tough job for the judges. I’m looking forward to congratulating our finalists and winners at the awards event next month,” adds Ailsa.

The winners of the five categories, as well as the supreme Chief Executive's Award, will be announced at an awards ceremony in December at the Auckland War Memorial Museum Events Centre.

Main sponsors for this year’s awards include A+ Trust, Starship Foundation, Spark and Cisco Systems, Buzz Channel and Auckland Academic Health Alliance.

The finalists, in no particular order, are:

 Excellence in Clinical Care

  • David Semple and team  Haemodialysis access work stream
  • Michelle Griffen and team  Falls over bedrails campaign
  • Dr Maugan Rimmer and team  Evidence-based approach to Anorexia Nervose treatment in Auckland – family based approach
  • Ian d'Young and team  Improving the management of ESBL-E.Coli

 Excellence in Process and Systems Improvement

  • Mohammed Alshadiefat and team – Improving surgical instruments cycle time in Clinical Sterile Supplies Department
  • Phil Schulze and team – OR capacity management process improvements
  • Bren Dorman and team – ORL clinical pathway
  • Janine Mortimer and team – Women’s health physiotherapy waiting time

 Excellence in the Workplace

  • Alliance Health Plus - Achievement of ISO certification
  • Richard Doocey and team - New Northern region Haematology & Bone Marrow Transplant Unit - Motutapu Ward, Auckland City Hospital
  • Dr Shamsul Shah and team - Manaakitia Rounds: Reigniting compassion into healthcare
  • Lorraine Hetaraka-Stevens;Tereki Stewart, Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua and team - Rangitahi Workforce Development Programme

Excellence in Community Health and Wellbeing

  • Procare Health  ProCare Mission Smokefree
  • Karen Wilks, Public Health Service  Rheumatic Fever Prevention Programme in Schools
  • Safekids and Starship Foundation – Creative Quest
  • Alliance Health Plus  Mama's House, Rheumatic Fever prevention in the community

Excellence in Research

  • Dr Catherine Han and team, Auckland City Hospital – Calcium and Magnesium  Infusions – Effects on oxaliplatin
  • Dr Matthew Drake and team – Observational study – BP measurement during caesarean section.

For more information visit the health excellence awards website(external link) or email:

Read the accessible pdf version [PDF, 228 KB] of the story.

Last modified:

← Back to the news