Celebrating our nurses and midwives


Auckland DHB is celebrating and thanking its nurses and midwives this International Nurses Day.

To mark the occasion awards were presented to those who shine in clinical practice, leadership, education and demonstrate the spirit of nursing at the DHB’s annual awards ceremony.

“We received 142 nominations for this year’s awards”, says Chief Nursing Officer, Margaret Dotchin. “Having read every one of the nominations, I felt extremely proud to lead such an amazing nursing and midwifery team.”

“These awards are about establishing a tradition of recognition, recording achievement and enabling nurses and midwives in the future to look back at role models and leaders that have gone before them,” adds Margaret.  “It provides an opportunity to celebrate all that is good in nursing and midwifery.  And acknowledges the remarkable difference nurses and midwives make to our patients and communities.”

The awards are held between International Day of the Midwife (5 May) and International Nurses Day today (12 May) - the birth date of Florence Nightingale, founder of modern nursing.

Nurses and Midwives form the largest workforce employed by Auckland DHB and they are critical to Auckland DHB’s future success,” says Chief Executive Ailsa Claire. “Leading the way in quality and safety programmes, challenging existing professional boundaries and taking on roles not traditionally within the nursing scope of practice, are just some of the ways nurses and midwives are rising to the challenges that healthcare faces.”

I’m extremely proud of our nurses and midwives, and thank them all for their significant contribution to compassionate, quality healthcare.”

Auckland DHB thanks the A+ Charitable Trust for their generous sponsorship of these awards.

 The A+ Trust Nursing and Midwifery Award winners for 2017 are:

  • Chief Nursing Officers Award – Elaine Sheirtcliff
  • Women’s Health – Annette Gage
  • Surgical Nursing Leadership – Debbie Parry
  • Perioperative Nurse’s Choice in the Operating Room – Elizabeth Kanivatoa
  • Perioperative Nurse’s Choice in PACU - Gemma Parker
  • Mental Health and Addictions – Cullum Millar
  • Clinical Support Nursing Award – Sherry Sinclair
  • Child Health Directorate & Starship Foundation Excellence in Clinical Practice Award – Diane Fuller
  • D McMinn Cardiovascular Award – Nik Adams
  • Cancer and Blood Directorate – Valerie Honeyman
  • Adult Community and Long Term Conditions – Suzanne Werder
  • Adult Medical Directorate – Kamlesh Nand
  • Primary Health Care Nursing – Jayme Kitiona
  • Aged Residential Nursing – Cyrene Jabay
  • Rotary Trophy of Tradition – Susan Atherton
  • Rotary Alistair McFarlane Memorial Award – Darlene De Gouzman
  • Rotary Anne Craig Medal – Lucy McKeage
  • The University of Auckland School of Nursing Trophy for Clinical and Academic Leadership – Jackie Robinson
  • Pat Butcher Award for lifelong learning – Heather Spinetto
  • The Cecile Thompson Award – Soby Matai
  • The Kim Williams Scholarship – Michelle Griffen
  • WA Fairclough – David Garland
  • D C Hounsell Prize – Lorraine MacDonald
  • Judith Philipson Excellence in Bedside Delivery (Child Health) – Kristen Pynenburg
  • T W Bollard Child Health Excellence in Clinical Practice – Caroline Radich
  • JM Neil Award – Kath Honeybone

 For further information about the Nursing and Midwifery Awards contact the Auckland DHB Communications Team communication@adhb.govt.nz or phone 09 375 3499

Last modified:

← Back to the news